Leiden University

The Instituut-Lorentz, established in 1921, is the oldest institute for theoretical physics in The Netherlands. Together with the experimental groups in the Kamerlingh Onnes and Huygens Laboratories it forms the Leiden Institute of Physics. The Instituut-Lorentz participates in two research schools, the Casimir Research School (jointly with Delft University of Technology) and the Dutch Research School of Theoretical Physics. The national research schools offer a comprehensive program of postgraduate education. Graduate students and postdocs interested in joining the Instituut-Lorentz are encouraged to apply directly to one of the faculty members listed below. Students interested in cosmology can apply to the De Sitter programme.
We closely collaborate with the Institutes of Theoretical Physics in Utrecht and Amsterdam, in the context of the Delta Institute of Theoretical Physics.

Particle physics & cosmology
Ana Achúcarro
Alexey Boiarskyi
Jan-Willem van Holten (emeritus)
Subodh Patil
Matthieu Schaller
Koenraad Schalm
Alessandra Silvestri
Econophysics & network theory
Diego Garlaschelli (part-time)
Quantum information science
Tom O'Brien (part-time)
Julia Cramer
Vedran Dunjko
Evert van Nieuwenburg
Jordi Tura
Physics of quantum matter
Carlo Beenakker
Vadim Cheianov
Peter Denteneer
Jan Zaanen
Physics of soft & biological matter
Luca Giomi
Silke Henkes
Hans van Leeuwen (emeritus)
Theo Odijk (guest)
Wim van Saarloos (emeritus)